Site  •  Wiki  •  FAQ  •  Login

New? Introduce yourself here!

<<

Hercanic

Site Admin

Post June 6th, 2009, 8:41 pm

New? Introduce yourself here!

Hello, I am Hercanic, your friendly neighborhood administrator and founder of Modcrafters. I began modding Starcraft back in 2001, and my first claim to fame was a little mod called Starcraft Team Fortress, or STF for short. Back in those days, the premier place for a modder to learn, ask for help, and earn their place amongst peers was Camelot Systems. Otherwise known as CamSys, the staff was comprised of the very people who wrote the first trailblazing modding tools that set the standard for the tools to come. Not being a programmer myself, without these tools, albiet plagued with numerous bugs and corruption landmines, I would never have been able to produce my mod, and all that you see here would never have existed. Suffice it to say, I owe a lot to the efforts of those individuals, and give them a deep, if unheard, thanks.

On CamSys, my mod, STF, earned its first notoriety with simple screenshots of the Pyro unit setting units on fire. At the time, no one had done anything like this, and many were instantly fascinated to know how I accomplished such a feat. I attracted the interest of a humble French artist going by the alias JackBlack. A partnership was born, and with him STF progressed beyond a simple test mod.