Site  •  Wiki  •  FAQ  •  Login

Noob Here w/ Questions

<<

Rawb

Post September 18th, 2009, 8:12 pm

Noob Here w/ Questions

I used to mod back around 1.07ish and have recently gotten back into it. I've been using Starcraft 1.16.1, along with DatEdit and FG1.16.1 and am familiar with both programs and how to use them.

The problem is that there are a few things that they can't do that I'd like to try:
  • The first of these is something that I've asked about other places. I want certain Zerg Units to be able to morph into their Hero counterparts. Namely the Zergling, Hydralisk, Mutalisk, Guardian, and Ultralisk. I can get the buttons to appear on the correct units and to properly grey out/activate, but I can't get them to do anything when you click it!
  • The second is something I just thought about while looking over the GPTP: I would like Zerg units to regen health faster than normal. I have a mod where many units, including some from Terran and Protoss can regen health. But I'd like the Zerg to to it 2-3 times as fast.
Both of these things seem like something you could do with GPTP, but I'm completely unfamiliar with how to code in it! Can I get some help on these issues and general tutorial-like info on GPTP programming?
<<

Hercanic

Site Admin

Post September 18th, 2009, 8:27 pm

Re: Noob Here w/ Questions

Zerg morphing isn't working because, since 1.14 or so, Blizzard fixed a morphing exploit that effectively disallows morphing for anything other than the default. FireGraft 1.15.1 has an EXE Edit that removes this restriction. To hunt for the offsets and create your own EXE Edit for 1.16.1, follow Mauron's guide.

For a guide on writing plugins, be sure to browse the Plugin forum. Broodkiller has written one.
<<

Rawb

Post September 18th, 2009, 8:40 pm

Unfortunately, I can't find the EXE edit used because my Starcraft doesn't go below 1.15.2 (I got a digital copy from Blizzard and it came "pre-updated" to 1.15.2).